November 25, 2010

  • This is going to be a magical winter, I just know it

    Yet another cold, gloomy day. But it's okay, it's actually have been a very pleasant day since somehow I think the weather, plus the impending holiday has been putting everyone around in a very good and generous mood. Which brings me to what I've been meaning to blog about.

     

    Today, I truly understood the concept of the saying "never judge a book by its cover". We're guilty of it subconsciously or consciously, at one point or another in our life. First, let me just set the scene by saying that I was waiting for my ride at a bus loop exchange in Surrey Central, which has been condemned, time and again as a very dangerous place, where one can get mugged, shot and or stabbed at any given hour.  So there was this woman sitting behind me who was talking to a friend, (call me superficial and judgmental but I have to state, for the purpose of this anecdote, that she looked very....unkempt to say the least) I wasn't trying to eavesdrop but since this friend was talking very loud, I was able to hear all the messy, private details of her life which she recounted very casually, almost as if there was nothing to it. Out of nowhere, the lady this friend was talking to turn to the people on the next bench, who looked more able than she did, and handed them 10$ because "they needed it". Of course, these people were very hesitant and was very unsure. The friend then went off to say that she'd "take the money" and that "[she] need it more than they do", that "[her] fiance left her, social service took [her] kid" and that " [she] hasn't eaten in three days". The friend then turn back to the strangers, took back the 10$ bill, hand it over to her friend, then proceeded to give the stranger a solid 20$ bill in lieu of the 10. This got me smiling. Not only that, but soon after the strangers left, a lady handing out fliers approached them to advertise whatever it was she was representing, she was shaking from the cold and this nice lady noticed right away, she then offered to help her out with giving away the fliers so that she could go home as soon as possible. My ride arrived just as that was happening but it really got me thinking how pleasant people have been. I mean just between this and the man who held the sky train door for me this morning so that it wouldn't close before I can safely get in, it really got me pondering the magic the cold weather is bringing.

    The only (very small) bummer to my day is loosing my brand new, pink fluffy earmuffs that I highly anticipated for since I ordered it online 2 months ago. Guess you can't have it all.

     

    -Elle Are Emm