July 31, 2013

  • No goodbyes, but see you later

    Last picture with SJ,didn't realize how nearly we match. 


    Accompanied SJ around the day before she left (07/28). She had asked me initially to accompany her to a meeting she has with the administration from my old school. Confession Bear: I couldn't because I was scared to see old instructors. I feel like I left on such a disappointing note that I couldn't bear to bring myself back there.  This was hard to explain, so I ended up telling SJ that I slept in. I did meet her afterwards though; I brought her to The Quay to have some crepes from Allan, the Frenchman. Except disappointingly enough, he wasn't there, and somehow the crepes just weren't as good. 

    We stopped by her school, then Chinatown, then back to her place where I helped her pack. Around half past 6, I left. It wasn't as sad as I thought it would; sure, she plans to come back ASAP, but it's also because I have a feeling that even if she doesn't, we'll see each other again somehow. 

    After I made my way home, the bros and I went to the new night market, where the strong, cold, evening wind, made it evident that summer is nearing it's end. I've always preferred the old night market by the way, and all because of these Taiwanese cake wheels snacks that I've been obsessing with for YEARS. I noticed though, that apart from that, the old market is actually severely lacking. Sure it's nice that the food are a fraction cheaper, and it's not as crowded, but merchandise and variety wise, it doesn't come up to par with the newer one. 

    Besides, I stumbled upon this pastry goodness; it's essentially bread, rolled in cinnamon and sugar, with Nutella and Bavarian cream filling inside *drool*

     


    On Saturday, I received an unexpected text from Dr. B asking if I would be willing to massage her and a few more people. I mean, she's made her intentions known a long time ago, but never really committed, that I've always thought that she just took a polite interest for the sake of filling in awkward silences. 

    So on Sunday, I came over. First and last time I set foot in her home was a few years back during one Christmas work party. There were too many people to make a proper observation; I had no more than a passing thought on how big the place is. I hadn't realize exactly how big, until last Sunday. I had always thought I wanted the same life style for myself, especially when I was younger; a big fancy house, with fancy interior decoration, in a nice fancy neighbourhood. I mean, doesn't that seem like a cushy way to live? Now I'm not too sure. I feel like to live that lifestyle, I would have to dedicate and center my attention to possessing as much as I can. 

    To have this view though. It makes me think twice. 

     


    I have never simultaneously appreciated and averted the Filipino's culture and attitude towards guests. I mean, in all technicality I wasn't even really a guest. But of course, declining the inevitable offer of nourishment would just make my situation even more awkward. So I toughened up, pretended I belonged by unceasingly talking to one of the tita's, as I normally tend to do when placed in awkward settings.  Luckily, the two other women were quite nice, especially the tita I talked too, she was quite unexpectedly sweet and welcoming, that at some point, I fully accepted that she might have forgotten to pay; which luckily, she didn't.

     

    -Elle Are Emm