Month: September 2012

  • A family that smokes together

    ...wait...WHAT?!

     


    Thursday, Sept 6


    That's it, my tablet finally gave in on me. Ironic too, because the moment after I sent a text to a friend yesterday, proclaiming not having a clue how I spent my life before I purchased a tablet, it promptly lagged; I shut it off and it never turned back on. Google proved no help, so I went on the Acer website and after an infuriating chat with a customer representative "help" online, I was told that I could send in my tablet for repair as it is still covered under warranty.

    Seriously, there customer rep have no idea what they are doing! bitter They're knowledge are limited to repetitive protocols that aids no one 99% of the time. I don't blame them, nor do I belittle the fact that aside from their training they spoke minimal English as they are usually situated on an impoverish country for the most part. I mean, I highly admire the fact that these big time companies create jobs to third world countries by bringing their business there. It's a win-win right? Companies save money, and jobs are created for those who need them.

    Truth be told though, these employees minimal knowledge in trouble shooting only serves to annoy customers like me. I find their scripted response extremely condescending. I mean, repeatedly telling me that you "understand your concern" but asking me the same information over, and over, and over again is really, really, really... *sigh


    Anyway, it turns out the repair depot is a mere 20=30mins drive. Though I also had the option of just shipping my tablet, and ship it I did. CB works for Puralator, hence she was able to ship it for me for 3.50$

    Now, I am face with a dilemma of what to do with my not-so-spare-time. Or at the very least, how I would kill time for our mini family road trip on Saturday. As a solution, I visited the library to borrow books that I've been reading on my tablet. I almost forgot how at home I feel amid all those bound text. One of these days, I'm going to muster the energy to volunteer at a local library.   

     

    Korean BBQ earlier dinner with the mother after I picked her up from work. I  swear, I could eat Korean BBQ at least once a day!

    I also bough some vegetable for Ulam. Then this happened:

    As you can see, I have a very peculiar dog. He's quite confuse really, he doesn't quite now which species he belongs in. He has the mannerism of dog, cat, monkey, human and now a rabbit. But hey, at least they're bonding.

    This also happened. Between Aso and Ulam -that's 2 sets of sharp claws/nails- I have battle scars everywhere. The perils of being an animal owner.

     


    Friday, Sept 7


    Daddy's home for his 5 day break from a 10 day work week. And with him, he brought a Cuban cigar his Mexican co-worker gifted him.

    So this happened:

    I did half expect to get in trouble for smoking, or at least get reprimanded. But I guess we're all big boys/girl now. Actually, as the three of us were passing the cigar around, le father came out to join.

    Bet you wish your dad was half as cool as mine.


    Now, I have no more qualms about my long desire to purchase a hookah set

     

    This man, my father teaches me about life with every breath he takes. There isn't a day that goes by that I don't feel beyond blessed to have him in my life. It regularly overwhelms me how he and my mother affect me spiritually and mentally. 

     

    Lesson #2314: Do not take life so seriously

    As opposed to acting annoyed by a telemarketer like majority of the people in the world would, he decided to troll this particular one by having a half an hour long conversation and mock-courtship. The only reason he hanged up the phone was because my mother called and wanted to be picked up. But actually, ditching the phonewould be more appropriate, because that's exactly what he did; he excused himself, placed the phone on the ground and promptly exited the house. 

    Not only did he amused himself, he also ensured that those telemarketers would think twice before giving us a phone call again. 

    -Elle Are Emm

     

  • Tonight, I am a woman

    In all technicality, that would actually be last night.

     

    But I digress. 

     

    Cutting my hair to such a short length and pretending to be a lesbian has all been fun and games within my group my friends, but I don't think I've properly explain myself as to what my actual motive is. In the surface, I can easily and honestly say that it wasn't such a big decision as some people make it out to be; after all, it is just hair. Or to me at least. In a year's time, if I feel so inclined, I could grow out my hair to it's usual flowing length. 

    I am also in a stage where I need a change of sorts. A change that doesn't actually deviate from who I am, but rather, a change that will enable me to grow into myself.  I don't know if that makes sense, but I'm 20; I'm lost and confuse. Never have I ever felt like a kid more than I have been lately and I really just want/need to gain back a semblance of control, feign confidence that I lack to get by and surface from this with as much of me left in tact as I could manage. 

    I hadn't realize that cutting my hair would be this symbolic to me until after the fact, it really just felt like the thing to do. And in doing so, I just feel that much more empowered; as though I had shed a part of that little long-black-haired-girl me.  This short new cut represent me in ways that I've never been represented before. It represents me now, and it represents who I've always been, both physically and mentally. 

    There's that. And of course, there is also my fascination to gender bending.

    Ah, gender bending. I always explode into a fragmented, revering ramble when this topic comes up. Even now, I am starting to get excited beyond comprehensible words. It's just....just... *sigh*


    The medical, biological, and sociological aspect of it completely fascinates me. It's the ultimate FUCK YOU to gender standards society set; biologically, it reiterates how malleable and manipulable the human body is; and of course, the advancement in medical technology, with regards to this matter, that has and is being made, is an entirely different story in itself. 

     I'll leave it at that for now, before I launch onto any more fervour fuelled babble. 

    In any case, lately, the friends have been having fun stitching an elaborate story - to tell others- of how each of them have been/ are my lovers for their own amusement, that I was starting to feel my ovaries shrink and be slowly replaced by testicles. So tonight, for JW birthday dinner at Cactus Club on English Bay Beach,  I was determine to look like a lady. 

    Obligatory food picture post.


    I was -at no one's surprise, I'm sure- late. By the time I arrived, they ( JW, KK, AA as well as two of JW's friends) were already seated at the patio with a beautiful view of the beach and it's surrounding areas. We were only there for a couple of hours, and because most of them have obligations the next day, we ended it at that. 

    AA actually drove, but seeing as she could only have 4 passengers, I volunteered to transit home by myself. It was a good night, so I didn't mind at all. Besides, I've noticed that I've been driving/or getting driven around a lot lately. In any case, iit gave me an opportunity to catch up on my reading. 

    Asymmetrical dress. Did the job just fine. Excuse this moment of superficialness, but I adored how the tail end of the dress move and flew in the wind with every step I took. I felt feminine all right. 

    The best part? Is that finally allowing myself dress in dresses and shorts comes with the realization that I'm out growing body image issues that I've had all my life. 

    Sure, self esteem issues has never been a big part of who I am, but admittedly they were/are still there. I'm just one of  the imperfect lucky ones to recognize that body image isn't everything. 

     

    And yes, that is a white bra in the background

     

    -Elle Are Emm

  • Sober camping, cold feet and foetal position

    Saturday, September 1


    Long weekend Labour Day camping. It was half spontaneous trip that Ate Babilonia planned out a few weeks prior, just to commemorate Summer 2012. Apparently, everyone else had the same thing in mind, because I had about two other party invite for the same weekend, seeing as it is the last weekend before school starts again.

     

    We left  for Manning Park; Mule Deer camp ground the evening before, so by the time we got to our camp site it was already dark. But here are pictures the morning after. 

    Meaty breakfast. YUM

    Dispersing as we brush out teeth with river water

    Gorgeous clear, ice-cold  water. Though the river's current was quite strong that I lost the other pair of my slipper crossing it to gather wood for our fire.

     

    d

    Don't be fooled by the sunshine! IT WAS COLD! But yes, this was out camp site. We were mere meters away from the river.

    Apparently, the evening before we arrived, our camp mates , who had gone ahead to set up, spotted a brown bear, left of that tent!. So there entire time we were there, every one was on the look out for one.

     


    Sunday, September 2


    The night before wasn't as bad. And of course, the weather was wayyy better too! We were packed and ready to leave by noon. Some people headed home, while some had stayed to visit a park called Lightning Lake where we can rent row boat/canoe and of course KAYAK!!!!!! 


    It was still windy, but beautiful day nonetheless.

    We had to wait quite a bit since all their boats seems to have been rented out already. But it was worth it to me as long as I can get out there on a kayak.

    As soon as I had a scope of the lake, I knew that I needed to get to the other end. Take note of that area where the trees seem to converge left of where that boat is. 



    There were five of us in total who stayed. I was fifth wheeling, which was fine by me and actually worked really well in my favour. I don't like canoes or row boats -which each respective couple chose to do- and I don't like kayaking with others. 

    Closer view of that converging area I had indicated earlier. As I got closer to it, I realize that it may have been a man-made lake. At the very least, it wasn't always a lake seeing as, it was actually quite shallow, and on even shallower areas, you can see tree stumps etc. 

    Viewing from the dock, I actually thought that this lake was enclosed and I had a vision of us on top of a mountain, of which it's tip is hallowed to make space for this lake. 

    As I got closer, I started seeing people. I then realize that the surrounding of the lake is actually a trail.

    What was even more astounding, is as I rounded the lake bend, it opened up to this  beautiful area. It was quite a treat! We only had an hour with our boats, and by this time I'd already consumed half an hour. It was such a shame, I would have liked to explore some more, but I only got to about just pass the bridge. 

    Beautiful British Columbia indeed. 


    Happy camper. 
    I don't know what it is about kayaks that I love so much. I'm not even really good at it. Maybe it's the momentary, care-free solitude, maybe it's the independence -I could get to my destination on my own at my own pace-, or maybe it's the scenery of places that usually comes along with kayaking. Regardless, I hope one day, I could acquire a kayak I can call my own.

    As we headed down the mountain, thus effectively recovering cellphone reception, a few text messages came through my phone. One of which gave me a sick feeling in my stomach: there had been miscommunication  lack of communication rather, and DP was unable to make it to my house to feed Ulam. I tried to make a joke of the situation, but I was extremely worried. By my calculation, Ulam, my new bunny, would have gone a day with no food and water. How absolutely irresponsible of me bummedsad. When I got home early evening, I rushed to my room only to remember that I locked my door, and I left my keys with my mother to give to DP. Though bless her heart, because even when she objected to take of what she calls my "rat", she actually provided him with water (she didn't know where I stored his food). 

     

    HURRAH!

     


    Monday, September 3


    Mommy Babilonia's surprise birthday party! and I was left to pick out flowers for her. Oh oh

    How'd I do?


    After having a quick dinner, we stayed and do nothing at the Babilonia's residence, as per usual.

    Later though, I received a very worried phone call from the mother. Apparently, Aso was sick again, so as opposed to sleeping beside her, he had to rest downstairs in the spare room, so he doesn't make a mess in our bedrooms.

    I couldn't help it; I felt really bad, so I ended up accompanying him in the spare room. As soon as I lay down, he promptly cuddled up on my belly, where he was making whimpering, pained noises :'(

    But boy, does that dog bounce fast! Like Ulam, Aso baby is all better. 

     

    HURRAH! HURRAH!

     

    -Elle Are Emm

     

     

    http://i7.photobucket.com/albums/y279/sw33t1e/Xanga%20Weblog%20Pictures/090220121529.jpg